The Spa Queen Heads to the Golden Door

Call me the Spa Queen, fitness diva or pampered princess but I love spa breaks especially the week-long kind offered at the salubrious, luxurious, ultra-serene Golden Door in Escondido, California where I’ve been recharging my batteries on yearly treks for over 20 years. The Japanese-influenced, transcendental sanctuary set in a valley framed by gorgeous mountains is simply the best of its kind barring none.And that’s the truth, why else would the rich, famous, beautiful faces flock there –many to get in shape and look their best for their movie roles or awards ceremonies.
It’s always fun to run into a celeb and I have from Sally Struthers and Joyce DeWitt to Pat Kennnedy and beyond. Whether a luminary or ordinary (but rich enough to afford $8,000 a week), the 40 female guests who frequent most of the Door most weeks of the year save for a few men’s weeks, bond during the 7-day retreat. Unfortunately the ties usually melt shortly after.
I am heading there Easter Sunday for my week of atonement (no alcohol, healthy food, lots of activities that egins with earling morning mountain hikes followed by a full menu of exercise classes, personal training, gym, swimming, volleyball, pilates, Yoga eith lots of personal pampering in-between. You get in-room massages, facials, foot and hand treatments, body scrubs, herbal wraps, hair care, makeup, steams, saunas and more for one albeit stiff weekly price–worth every gold coin.
Anyhow I’ll be reporting daily from Door so keep coming back to hear how each glorious day unfolds.
Today I had my “pre-visit” interview–an amenity afforded return guests that allows you to have your program set up in advance. Us regulars know the ropes and we know what we want and they let us have it. This trip I’ve opted for a free-form canvas which will allow me to do what I want when I want save for my scheduled pampering. It’s all good.
The Golden Door is located just outside of San Diego near Escondio about a 2 to 3 hour from LA where I live, but I don’t drive, I take Amtrak from Union Station and relax in a cushy Business Class seat where I read or view the awesome coastline as we chug along. A driver from the Door picks me up at the Oceanside Station, which is only 20-minutes from the resort.
Check it out http://www.goldendoor.com/.
A peaceful, remote sanctuary, discreetly tucked away on 377 acres of rolling terrain, five miles north of Escondido, California
World-class spa facilities, including nine treatment rooms, an herbal wrap area, hydrotherapy tub, sauna, steam room, and hot tub
Asian-inspired architecture and philosophy, inspired by the ancient Japanese Honjin inns, famed for their gracious welcome and guest care
40 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, each with private patios and uniquely restful amenities that foster serenity
Meticulously landscaped grounds, complete with traditional Japanese gardens, koi ponds, and a million-dollar antique collection
Premier fitness facilities, including 3 poolside aerobic gyms, a hilltop gym for private fitness sessions, a new 4000 square foot Fitness Pavilion housing a 2000 square foot equipment gym, spinning gym, and additional aerobic gym; two swimming pools and a Kiatsu water therapy pool; tennis courts; and solarium
20 miles of switchback hiking trails, winding through avocado groves and ponds, suitable for all levels of expertise